Databases

Access to all of these databases are available from any Lake Macquarie Library branch, with many of them also being accessible from home using your library card number and PIN.

Available to access from home

Ancestry.com.au

During the current COVID-19 closure, Ancestry Online is available for Lake Mac Libraries customers to access from home - see below for login instructions.

CHOICE Online

During the current COVID-19 closure, Choice Online is available for Lake Mac Libraries customers to access from home - see below for login instructions.

Findmypast

During the current COVID-19 closure, Findmypast is available for Lake Mac Libraries customers to access from home - see below for login instructions.

Login instructions for these databases

  1. Click on the "My Account" link at the top of this page
  2. Log into your library account
  3. This will load your account dashboard - click on the link for "Online Resources"
  4. Use the username and password provided to log in to the database you wish to access

Online resources Online resources page


Available to access at a Lake Mac Libraries' branch

British Newspaper Archive

The British Newspaper Archive is a partnership between the British Library and bright solid online publishing to digitise up to 40 million newspaper pages from the British Library's vast collection over the next 10 years.

Access British Newspaper Archive via the desktop icon on any branch computer.

Ancestry.com.au

Ancestry.com.au, Australia and New Zealand's leading family history website, offers members access to one billion searchable Australian, New Zealand and UK family history records. Enjoy free access in full at any Lake Mac Libraries' branch.

Access Ancestry via the desktop icon on any branch computer.

FindMyPast

The website hosts over 4 billion searchable records of census, directory and historical record information. Enjoy free access in full at any Lake Mac Libraries' branch.

Access FindMyPast via the desktop icon on any branch computer.

Sydney Morning Herald Archives

Browse and search through every edition of The Sydney Morning Herald and The Sun-Herald between 1955-1995. Enjoy free access to articles in full at any Lake Mac Libraries' branch.

Access Sydney Morning Herald Archives via the desktop icon on any branch computer.

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is a nonprofit organization and website offering genealogical records, education, and software. It is operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and is closely connected with their Family History Department.

Access to FamilySearch is available at Speers Point Library. A free limited version of the site can be found via https://www.familysearch.org/en/