Databases

Access to all of these databases are available from any Lake Macquarie Library branch, with many of them also being accessible from home using your library card number and PIN.

Available online or at any Lake Mac Libraries' branch

Academic Search Elite

Discover magazine and journal articles for students covering a large range of topics including; animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, plus much more.

Australia/New Zealand Points of View

Containing resources that present multiple sides of a current issue this database helps students realise and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre

Discover a wide range of Australian and international content with academic articles on health, current affairs, science, social science, business and literature - including newspapers.

Britannica Library Online

Britannica Library is a reliable, up-to-date and age-appropriate information resource for library patrons of all ages. Discover encyclopedia articles, journals, images and much more!

Business Source Elite

This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.

Carter's Price Guide to Antiques

Discover Australian prices of antiquities, antiques, collectables, retro, vintage 20th century design, from 1500BC to the present day.

Consumer Health Complete

Discover information on a wide variety of health and health-related topics as well as alternative or complementary treatments.

GreenFILE

Provides information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.

History Reference Center

Covers the broad expanse of world history featuring thousands of documents, articles, biographies of historical figures, images, videos, and maps.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Enjoy detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas from leading hobby and craft magazines that will meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Literary Reference Center Plus

This comprehensive database features information on Australian and international authors and their works. With plot summaries, critical essays, reviews, poems and author biographies, it is the ultimate guide to finding your next favourite book.

MasterFILE Complete

Browse general reference publications dating as far back as 1975. MasterFILE Complete covers virtually every subject area of general interest and includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, images, maps, and flags.

NoveList Plus

Looking for a good book? Search thousands of titles by author, title, series, plot description, or reader age to find your perfect match. Also featuring plot summaries, genre and theme based lists, discussion guides for book clubs, and book talks this is the ultimate readers resource.

Science Reference Centre

Enjoy detailed information on all aspects of science including; Biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.